Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov


Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services

The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) has fifteen members. The Board consists of one member from each of the 11 congressional district, at least eight of whom are currently working farmers, and two at-large members, one of whom is a structural commercial applicator of pesticides and one of whom is engaged in the commercial sale or application of agricultural pesticides. The presidents of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and Virginia State University or their designees are ex officio members of the Board with voting privileges. A full term of appointment is four years. Except for those who are initially appointed to fill an un-expired term, each citizen member is eligible to serve no more than two successive terms. In addition to its other duties, the Board now promulgates regulations to certify pesticide applicators, register pesticide products and issue pesticide business licenses in order to protect individuals and the environment through the safe and effective control of pests that adversely affect health, crops, structures and domestic animals.

The Board

  • Promotes the agricultural interest of Virginia,
  • Has the power to receive and hold in trust donations made for the advancement of agricultural interests and to administer such trusts,
  • Advises the governor on the state of the industry of agriculture and offers the governor recommendations on actions to be taken to promote the industry's development,
  • Works with members of the agricultural community and with federal and state agencies to develop and implement programs that will provide for a strong and viable Virginia agriculture,
  • Receives annual reports from the state's commodity boards concerning their progress in promoting the industry,
  • Has the authority to prescribe, adopt and promulgate rules and regulations necessary to administer and enforce laws relating to agriculture, commerce and the consumer,
  • Is called upon by the commissioner from time to time to give advice and support concerning the development of new agency programs, organizational changes and other administrative matters,
  • Represents the broad interests of the public for the development of a strong industry of agriculture and efficient and responsive programs for serving and protecting the consumer.

Meetings/Public Hearings
The board holds four to five regular business meetings a year. With the exception of the July meeting, which is usually held in a different area of the state each year, the board meetings are conducted in the Richmond offices of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Additional meetings required for public hearings, planning, and new member orientation are held as needed. Public hearings are normally held in conjunction with regular business meetings. (Please note that you must select Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services on the Commonwealth Regulatory Town Hall in order to view Board meeting notices and minutes on that web site. See meetings for schedules and locations).

Meeting Notice

March 27, 2014


Draft Minutes
Final Minutes

Board Members:

Steven W. Sturgis, President

Robert J. Mills, Jr., Vice-President

Kevin Schmidt, Secretary

1st District
Stephen Ellis,
Caret, Virginia

2nd District
Steven W. Sturgis,
Eastville, Virginia

3rd District
Shelley S. Butler Barlow,
Suffolk, Virginia

4th District
William B. Bain,
Dinwiddie, Virginia

5th District
Robert J. Mills, Jr.,
Callands, Virginia

6th District
Rosalea R. Potter
Lexington, Virginia

7th District
L. Wayne Kirby,
Mechanicsville, Virginia

8th District
Patrick A. Toulme,
Falls Church, Virginia

9th District
Dr. Mark A. McCann
Newport, Virginia

10th District
John R. Marker
Winchester, Virginia

11th District
L Kirk Wiles, III
Clifton, Virginia

Elizabeth L. White,
Winchester, Virginia
At-large member representing commercial sales or application of agricultural pesticides

Kevin J. Kordek,
Virginia Beach, Virginia
At-large member representing structural commercial pesticide applicator

Ex Officio Members:
Dr. Charles W. Steger, President,
Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia

Dr. Keith T. Miller, President,
Virginia State University, Petersburg, Virginia

Members of the board may be reached by contacting Kevin Schmidt, Secretary of the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services,
P.O. Box 1163,
Richmond, Virginia 23218
Phone: 804.786.3538 FAX: 804.371.7679

Copyright 2014, Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. For Comments or Questions Concerning this Web Site, contact the VDACS Webmaster. WAI Level A Compliant
Web Policy | Contact Us