
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES  
OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES  

P. O. Box 526  •  Richmond, VA 23218 
102 Governor Street, 1st Floor, Richmond, VA 23219 

Phone:  (804) 786-3798  •  Fax: (804) 786-9149  • www.vdacs.virginia.gov  

APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCAL PESTICIDE 
APPLICATOR CERTIFICATE 

 
In accordance with the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, application is hereby made for CERTIFICATION as a 
COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR under the Reciprocal Agreement between the Commonwealth of Virginia 
and the State of      .  The two-year certificate expires on June 30 every other 
year.  Certificates must be renewed by June 30 to avoid payment of a 20% late fee. 
 
The two-year certificate fee is $70.00 (ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE).  Make check payable to: Treasurer of 
Virginia.  Mail application, check, copy of your out of state license and other required forms to the above 
address.  FEDERAL, STATE, AND  LOCAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES ARE EXEMPT FROM PAYING FEE.  If you 
have further questions or need additional help, you may call our office at (804) 786-3798. 
 
Please type or print the following information: 
 
Cat.# Title Cat.# Title 
 
        
 
        
(See reverse side for applicator categories) 
 
CERTIFICATE CLASS DESIRED: (check appropriate class) 
Commercial (For Hire)                        Not-For-Hire Commercial                        Government Employee                   
 
Social Security # (REQUIRED):    -    -   COUNTY:      
 
APPLICANT'S NAME:   

                                          (Last)                                              (First)                                    (M.I.) 
MAILING ADDRESS:    
                                                                 (Street or RFD) 
CITY:     STATE:    ZIP CODE:   
 
EMPLOYED BY:    
 
VA. PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE #:    BUSINESS PHONE #:    
 
BUSINESS ADDRESS:    
                                                         (Street or RFD)                                                (City, State, Zip) 
 
NAME AND TITLE OF SUPERVISOR:    
I certify that I have been trained in the specific skills necessary to properly apply pesticides in the performance of 
my job, and I agree to abide by all laws, rules and regulations governing pesticide usage in Virginia. 
 
                 
(Signature of Applicant)         (Date) 

 
 FOR DEPT. USE ONLY 

Certificate No.:      
    Date Issued:      
        Keyed By:       

           AMOUNT TO REMIT:               $ 70.00 
             VDACS ACCT:              756-09-02656     

               VDACS-07210                             05/09 

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/


COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CATEGORIES 
 

Category #                                    Category Title 
 
1-A    Agricultural Plant Pest Control 
1-B   Agricultural Animal Pest Control 
1-C           *Fumigation - Soil/Ag Products 
1-D           *Chemigation 
2   Forest Pest Control 
3-A   Ornamental Pest Control 
3-B             Turf Pest Control 
4          **Seed Treatment 
5-A   Aquatic Pest Control-General 
5-B   Marine Antifoulant Paint 
6   Right-Of-Way Pest Control 
7-A          **General Pest Control (including food processing) 
7-B          **Wood Destroying Pest Control 
7-C   Fumigation (Non-Agricultural)     
7-D   Vertebrate Pest Control (excluding structural 
invaders) 
7-E   Sewer Root Pest Control 
8   Public Health Pest Control 
9   Regulatory Pest Control 
10   Demonstration and Research Pest Control 
11         Aerial Pesticide Application 
12   Wood Preservation  

 
* requires concurrent certification in category 1-A 
** excluding fumigation 

 
Definitions: 

 
Commercial applicator means any applicator who has completed the requirements as determined 
by the board, including appropriate training and time in service, to apply for a certification, and 
who uses or supervises the use of any pesticide for any purpose or on any property other than as 
provided in the definition of private applicator. 

 
Commercial applicator not for hire means any commercial applicator who uses or supervises the 
use of pesticides as part of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or his 
employer.  This definition shall also apply to governmental employees who use or supervise the 
use of pesticides, whether on property owned or leased by them or their employers or not, in the 
performance of their official duties. 



 
 
 
 
 
 

INFORMATION FOR RECIPROCAL AGREEMENT PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION 
 

All Commercial Applicators (with the exception of not-for-hire commercial applicators 
and government employees) must either obtain, or work for a firm that has obtained a Virginia 
Pesticide Business License issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services.  This should not be confused with a county, city, or business license from another 
state. 
 

Recertification is required every other year.  This is usually accomplished by 
attendance at a VIRGINIA APPROVED recertification course.  Reciprocal recertification may be 
granted to out-of-state applicators if they: 
 

1. maintain certification in their home state; 
 
2. provide proof of current certification to the Office of Pesticide Services; 

 
3. are currently certified in a state that grants reciprocal recertification to Virginia 

applicators 
 

Commercial Pesticide applicator Certificates must be renewed every two years. 
 
Please follow instructions below in filling in your application: 
 
1.   Fill in “Application for Reciprocal Applicator Certificate” completely. 
 
2.   If you are an out-of-state resident, you must fill in the Power of Attorney form and have 

it notarized.  If your business has a Resident Agent registered with the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission, please indicate same on form. 

 
3. Enclose a copy of your certificate, including the description of the categories from the 

state with whom we have a Reciprocal Agreement.  Be sure this is a current license.  
See back of application for a list of Virginia categories and description. 

 
4. Enclose your fee of $70.00 for certification made payable to THE TREASURER OF 

VIRGINIA. 
 
5. If you are an aerial applicator, you must submit a copy of your FAA Certificate. 
 
If you have further questions or need additional help, you may call our office at (804) 786-3798. 
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