
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 
OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES 

PO Box 526 • Richmond, VA 23218 
102 Governor Street, 1st Floor, Richmond, VA 23219 

Phone: (804) 786-3798 • Fax: (804) 786-9149 • www.vdacs.virginia.gov 
 

PESTICIDE REGISTERED TECHNICIAN APPLICATION 
 

In accordance with of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and regulations adopted thereunder, application is hereby made 
for CERTIFICATION as a REGISTERED TECHNICIAN. 
The two-year non-refundable certification fee is $ 30.00. Please make check payable to: Treasurer of Virginia. 
Mail application and check to the above address. Federal, State, and Local Government employees are exempt from fee. 

 
Certificates expire on June 30. Government Employee Non-Government Employee 

 
Please check the appropriate boxes below: E-mail address:     

 

New applicator Retesting (fee waived for first retake) Reinstatement 
 

Please type or print the following information: 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NO.(REQUIRED) :    

 
 
-    -    

 
NAME OF APPLICANT:       

(Last) (First) (M.I.) 
MAILING ADDRESS:      

 

(Street or RFD) 

COUNTY:    

CITY:      STATE:     ZIP CODE:     
 

 
EMPLOYED BY (Company or agency you work for):    

 
PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE NO.:     BUSINESS PHONE NO.:     

 
BUSINESS ADDRESS:       

(Street or RFD) 
COUNTY:     

CITY:     STATE:     ZIP CODE:     
 

NAME OF SUPERVISING CERT. 
COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR TRAINER :     NUMBER :     

 
I certify that I have received at least 40 hours of I certify that this applicant has successfully   
training in the skills necessary to properly apply completed a training course, as outlined on the 
pesticides in the performance of my job, and reverse of this application, specific to the pesticide 
I agree to abide by all the laws, rules and application requirements of his/her job. 
regulations governing pesticide usage. 

 
 

(Signature of Applicant) (Signature of Commercial Applicator Trainer) 
 

DATE :      DATE :    
 
 

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 
Reg Tech Certificate No. 

Date Keyed: 
Keyed to Database by:    

AMOUNT TO REMIT: $30.00 
 
VDACS ACCT. 756-09-02437 
 
VDACS-07212 12/14 

 
 
 

(SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR TRAINING REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS) 

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/


GENERAL TRAINING REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTERED TECHNICIANS 
 

Prior to making application for Registered Technician certification, a prospective 
applicant must first receive at least 40 hours of training in the safe and proper application 
of pesticides. The training must include the following: 

 
1. Must include 20 hours Board-approved training consisting of at the minimum, study and 

review of all the material contained in the most current edition used in Virginia of the 
basic pesticide applicator certification training Core manual. (These manuals may be 
obtained for a nominal fee from the Virginia Tech Pesticide Programs website at 
http://www.vtpp.org.)  

 
2. 20 hours on-the-job (practical) instruction in the safe and proper handling, mixing, and 

application of the pesticides normally associated with the technician's job duties under 
the direct, on-site supervision of a certified commercial applicator, and 

 
3. This training must be received during the six month period previous to applying for  

Registered Technician certification. 
 
Registered Technicians may apply general-use pesticides unsupervised and 
restricted-use pesticides only under the direct supervision of a Certified Commercial 
Applicator. 

 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION 
FOR REGISTERED TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION 

 
1. Return completed application with payment. (Government employees are fee- exempt.) 

If you meet the above requirements, you will be sent a Notice of Authorization to take the 
certification exam. 

 
2. Within 90 days of the date of the Notice of Authorization, report to an approved VDACS or 

DMV testing location to take the written examination, a 50 question multiple choice test.  
Computerized exams at the DMV Customer Service Centers are scored as you are taking 
them, and you will be notified of your score as you complete each exam. Written exams 
taken at VDACS testing centers will be sent to the Office of Pesticide Services in 
Richmond to be scored. 

 
3. If you pass the Registered Technician examination, the Office of Pesticide Services (OPS) 

will notify you, and send you your certificate, generally within 10 work days. If you take 
and pass your exam at one of the DMV Customer Service Centers, you will be issued a 
temporary certificate good for seven days. Your permanent certificate will be mailed to 
you by OPS within seven days. 

http://www.vtpp.org/

