
Course Name Offered By Location CE Credits Date(s) Offered Cost/Fee (if known)

Introduction to Wildlife Rehabilitation Wildlife Center of Virginia N/A - Online 2 N/A - Online $25

Introduction to Rescue, Handling, & Transport of Wildlife Wildlife Center of Virginia N/A - Online 2 N/A - Online $25

Assessment, Rescue, & Intake of Wild Raptors Wildlife Center of Virginia N/A - Online 2 N/A - Online $45

The Trauma of First Response to Cruelty Justice Clearinghouse N/A - Online 1.25** N/A - Online $0

Advanced Components of Animal Cruelty Justice Clearinghouse N/A - Online 1.75** N/A - Online $0

IS11.a Animals in Disasters: Community Planning FEMA N/A - Online 4 N/A - Online $0

IS10.a Animals in Disasters: Awareness & Preparedness FEMA N/A - Online 4 N/A - Online $0

IS111.a Livestock in Disasters FEMA N/A - Online 4 N/A - Online $0

Canine Communications Parts 1,2,3 ASPCApro N/A - Online 3 N/A - Online $0

Investigating Animal Abuse ASPCApro N/A - Online 3 N/A - Online $0

Working with Your Local Vets: Creating Vet Partnerships among Law EnforcementJustice Clearinghouse N/A - Online 1.5 N/A - Online Free to NACA mem.

What Investigators & Prosecutors Need to Know About Building Cases Against Cockfighting PerpetratorsJustice Clearinghouse N/A - Online 1 N/A - Online Free to NACA mem.

Advanced Cockfighting Investigations & Prosecutions Justice Clearinghouse N/A - Online 1 N/A - Online Free to NACA mem.

Top Ten Tip for Taking Wildlife Calls HSUS N/A - Online 1 9/29/2020 $0 

VACA Legal Update VACA N/A - Online 2 10/21/2020 $0 (VACA members)

Care of Companion Animals VACA N/A - Online 2 12/9/2020 $0 (VACA members)

Raptor Identification & Handling Animal Welfare League of Arlington N/A - Online 1.5 TBD $0

Pre-Approved Animal Control Officer and Humane Investigator Training Courses

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Division of Animal and Food Industry Services

Office of Veterinary Services - Animal Care

Upcoming Courses

Virginia Code Section 3.2-6556 requires every animal control officer to complete 15 hours of training in animal control and protection every three years, and requires all training courses to be approved by the State Veterinarian. The 

State Veterinarian's criteria used to approve training require course organizers or participants to contact the Office of Veterinary Services - Animal Care for course approval. If you would like a course added to this list, contact 

animalcare@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

102 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219

(804) 692-4001       animalcare@vdacs.virginia.gov

Updated September 18, 2020

*This course is comprised of multiple sessions. For a breakdown of CE by session, including any sessions not approved for CE credit, contact the course organizer or VDACS.

**This course applies toward each ACO's seven-hour online CE limit. 



Course Name Offered By Location CE Credits Date(s) Offered Cost/Fee (if known)

Dog Fighting Investigations and Prosecutions Justice Clearinghouse N/A -- Online 1.5** 2/21/2019 $0 

ACO In-Service Cardinal Criminal Justice Academy Salem, VA 16 3/2/2020-03/03/2020 $200 

Regional Workshop Virginia Alliance for Animal Shelters Wytheville, VA 8 3/2/2020 $0 

Neonatal Kitten Training Humane Rescue Alliance Hollywood, MD 4 3/3/2020 $0 

Regional Workshop Virginia Alliance for Animal Shelters Danville, VA 8 3/3/2020 $0 

Spring In-Service Chesterfield Animal Service Chesterfield, VA 8 03/18/2020-03/25/2020 $0 

Basic Knot Tying Class Central VA Technical Large Animal Rescue Chesterfield, VA 2.5 3/19/2020 $0 

Regional Workshop Virginia Alliance for Animal Shelters Loudoun, VA 8 3/27/2020 $0 

VFHS Annual Conference 2020 Virginia Federation of Humane Societies Virginia Beach, VA Up to 10 4/01/2020-4/03/2020 $295 

Regional Workshop Virginia Alliance for Animal Shelters Chesapeake, VA 8 4/6/2020 $0 

Mid-Atlantic Animal Care & Field Services Conference

Humane Rescue Alliance, Professional Animal 

Workers of Maryland, St. Hubert's Animal 

Welfare Center

Ocean City, MD 12 04/08/2020-04/10/2020 $280 

Self Care for Responders: Before, During, & After an Emergency Virginia State Agencies Richmond, VA 3 4/8/2020 $0 

Self Care for Responders: Before, During, & After an Emergency Virginia State Agencies Weyers Cave, VA 3 4/15/2020 $0 

Regional Workshop Virginia Alliance for Animal Shelters Harrisonburg, VA 8 4/16/2020 $0 

Regional Workshop Virginia Alliance for Animal Shelters Henrico, VA 8 4/17/2020 $0 

Bovine Emergency Response Plan Training for First Responders Jefferson County Commission Kearneysville, WV 7.5 4/18/2020 $0 

Self Care for Responders: Before, During, & After an Emergency Virginia State Agencies Abingdon, VA 3 4/20/2020 $0 

Self Care for Responders: Before, During, & After an Emergency Virginia State Agencies Roanoke, VA 3 4/21/2020 $0 

Self Care for Responders: Before, During, & After an Emergency Virginia State Agencies Fairfax, VA 3 4/27/2020 $0 

Self Care for Responders: Before, During, & After an Emergency Virginia State Agencies Stafford, VA 3 4/28/2020 $0 

Aggression in Dogs: Defensive Handling & Training Richmond SPCA N/A - Online 7 05/02/2020-05/03/2020 $225-$275

Self Care for Responders: Before, During, & After an Emergency Virginia State Agencies Chesapeake, VA 3 5/4/2020 $0 

Self Care for Responders: Before, During, & After an Emergency Virginia State Agencies Newport News, VA 3 5/5/2020 $0 

Animal Control Officer In Service Crater Criminal Justice Training Academy Crater Criminal Justice Training Academy Up to 24 7/13/2020-7/15/2020 $100 

Overview of 2020 Virginia Legislation VAAS N/A - Online 1.5 8/19/2020 $0 

Tethering: What the new Legislation Means & How to Enforce it VAAS N/A - Online 1.5 8/12/2020 $0 

What are Mesopredators? Taking a Deeper Look at Solving Problems 

with our Smallest Urban Predators
Justice Clearinghouse N/A - Online 1 8/20/2020 Free to NACA mem.

Past Courses - Approved for Listed Dates Only

*This course is comprised of multiple sessions. For a breakdown of CE by session, including any sessions not approved for CE credit, contact the course organizer or VDACS.

**This course applies toward each ACO's seven-hour online CE limit. 


