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Instructions for Obtaining and Maintaining a 
Virginia Pesticide Business License 

Who must hold a Virginia Pesticide Business License? 

The Virginia Pesticide Control Act defines a pesticide business as “any person engaged in the 
business of: distributing, applying or recommending the use of a product; or storing, selling, or 
offering for sale pesticides directly to the user.” The Act requires any business operating in Virginia 
that fits this description to be licensed by the Office of Pesticide Services in the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Typical licensed pesticides businesses include: 

• Pest management firms (exterminators) 
• Lawn care companies that apply herbicides, insecticides, or fungicides as part of their services 
• Retailers, distributors or dealers that sell pesticide products unless exempted by regulation 

(see below) 

Certain businesses that meet this definition have been exempted by regulation from the requirement 
to have a license: 

• Retailers of limited quantities (sales of less than $50,000 annually per outlet) of general use 
pesticides primarily intended for limited household use.  Note:  Retailers of products that are 
labeled for other uses (i.e. Agricultural, Commercial, Institutional, Industrial, etc.) are not 
exempt from the license requirement. 

• Providers of janitorial, cleaning or sanitizing services using only sanitizers, disinfectants, and 
germicides. 

This license requirement is separate from any “business license” required by localities. 

Requirements for licensing: 

• Application: Submit the enclosed application form, along with a check or money 
order for $75.00. 

• Certification of liability insurance: Submit a current certificate of insurance 
showing that the firm has liability insurance coverage that meets state requirements 
(see below). 

• Designated commercial applicator: All businesses that apply or recommend 
pesticides commercially, or sell restricted-use pesticides, must designate a certified 
commercial applicator in their employ to be responsible for the safety of pesticide 
applications, recommendations, or sales. 

• Pesticide Business License Exam: If a retailer of general use pesticides does 
not have a commercial applicator on staff, a designated employee must take and 
pass the Virginia Pesticide Business License Exam (see below). 

• All licenses expire March 31 each year, and must be renewed annually.   
• Each business location must have a separate license. 
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CERTIFICATION OF INSURANCE COVERAGE: 

Each applicant and licensed businesses must provide a certificate of liability insurance to the Office of 
Pesticide Services, and maintain a liability insurance policy, from a person authorized to do business 
in Virginia, protecting persons who may suffer legal damages resulting from the use of any pesticide 
by the applicant.   
The certificate of insurance must include: the name of the insurance company, policy number, 
insurance amount, type of coverage afforded, any exclusions relating to damage arising from the use 
of pesticides, and expiration date of the policy. The policy must cover liability arising out of the handling, 
storage, application, use or misuse, or disposal of any pesticide. It must also cover liability relating to 
completed operations. 

The amount of coverage must be a minimum of $100,000 for property damage, and $100,000 for 
personal injury or death of one person; and $300,000 per occurrence. This coverage must be 
maintained at all times during the license period. OPS must be notified at least 10 days prior to any 
reduction at the request of the licensee or cancellation of the policy by the insurer.   

The licensee must provide a current certificate of insurance to the Office of Pesticide Services 
at each insurance renewal date, or at any change of insurer. 

MAINTAINING YOUR BUSINESS LICENSE: 

All licenses expire March 31 each year, and must be renewed annually. To maintain a 
certificate, you must submit an application for renewal and the annual fee by March 31 to the Office of 
Pesticide Services. Late applications will be charged a 20% penalty. You should ensure that all 
information on your renewal application is still correct. Include a copy of your latest certification of 
insurance with your renewal application. 

THE VIRGINIA PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE EXAM: 

DO NOT COMPLETE the Request to take the Pesticide Business License Exam form unless 
your business only sells pesticides and is not required to have a certified commercial 
applicator employed. 

Request to take the Pesticide Business License Exam: 
If your firm does not sell restricted use pesticides or make recommendations, you do not need to 
have a certified commercial applicator to get a Pesticide Business License.  Your business must, at a 
minimum, have an employee take and pass the Virginia Pesticide Business License Exam.  You 
should apply for this examination at the same time as you submit the Application for a Pesticide 
Business License. There is no fee for this examination. 

Study Manual for the Pesticide Business License Exam: 
The exam is based on the material in the Virginia Core Manual “Applying Pesticides Correctly.” You 
may order the Virginia Core Manual, Publication # 456-210, from the Virginia Cooperative Extension. 
To order the manual visit https://vtpp.ento.vt.edu/ where you can submit an order online using a credit 
card. Questions about ordering manuals can be directed to staff members of Virginia Tech’s 
Pesticide Programs (VTPP) at 540-231-6543 or help@vtpp.org. 

https://vtpp.ento.vt.edu/
mailto:help@vtpp.org
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Notice of Authorization for the Pesticide Business License Exam: 
Once your complete application is received, the Office of Pesticide Services will send you a letter 
confirming the receipt of your application and authorizing you to take the exam. This Notice of 
Authorization must be presented at the testing center, along with photo identification. Qualified 
applicants have 90 days from the date of the letter to sit for the examination. If your Notice of 
Authorization expires before you have taken the exam, you must reapply. 

Testing: 
The Virginia Pesticide Business License examination is a written examination. It is administered on 
touch-screen computers at Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Centers. Examinations 
are given during business hours at more than 70 local DMV offices. Exams are scored as they are 
taken, and you will be notified of your score as you complete the exam.  A score of 76% is required to 
pass this exam. If you fail the exam, OPS will notify you, and will send you a new application. You 
must submit another application to take the exam again. 

REQUIRED RECORDKEEPING: 

All licensed pesticide businesses are required to maintain certain records for a period of two years, 
and make them available to the Office of Pesticide Services upon request. 

Application records: 
Records are required for all pesticides applied by a pesticide business and must contain the 
following information: 

1. Name, address, and telephone number of customer and address or location, if different, of site of application; 

2. Name and certification number (or certification number of the supervising certified applicator) of the person making 
the application; 

3. Day, month and year of application; 

4. Type of plants, crop, animals, or sites treated and principal pests to be controlled;   

5. Acreage, area, or number of plants or animals treated;   

6. Brand name or common product name;   

7. EPA registration number;   

8. Amount of pesticide concentrate and amount of diluent used, by weight or volume, in mixture applied; and   

9. Type of application equipment used. 

Restricted Use Pesticide Sales records: 
Records are required for all restricted use pesticides sold by a pesticide business and must contain 
the following information: 

1. Name, address, certified applicator number or business license number, and certificate or license expiration date of 
the person to whom the restricted use pesticide was sold or delivered; 

2. Date of sale; 

3. Brand or common product name; 

4. EPA registration number; and 

5. Quantity of pesticide sold or delivered. 
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Sources of Information: 

The Virginia Pesticide Control Act, Title 3.2, Chapter 39 Code of Virginia, Sections 3.2-3924 
through 3.2-3927. 

Rules & Regulations 

Chapter 675 Regulations Governing Pesticide Fees Charged by the Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services 

Chapter 680 Regulations Governing Licensing of Pesticide Businesses Operating Under the 
Authority of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act   

Questions regarding federal and state pesticide regulations and the legal responsibilities of licensed pesticide 
businesses can be submitted to: 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 
Office of Pesticide Services (OPS) 

Mailing: Location: 
P.O. Box 1163 102 Governor Street, Lower Level 
Richmond, VA 23218 Richmond, VA 23219 

Phone (804) 786-3798 / Fax (804) 786-9149 
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pesticides.shtml 

Questions regarding pesticide management techniques, sources of approved preparatory training materials for 
pesticide applicators can be submitted to: 

Virginia Cooperative Extension (VCE) 
County Extension Office 

(consult local listings for telephone number) 

Virginia Tech Pesticide Programs (VTPP) 
302 Agnew Hall 

Virginia Tech 
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0409 

(540) 231-6543 
https://vtpp.ento.vt.edu/ 

Eff. 01/2025 

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pesticides.shtml
https://vtpp.ento.vt.edu/


VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 
OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES 

P. O. Box 526   • Richmond, VA 23218 
102 Governor Street, Lower Level, Richmond, VA 23219 

Phone: (804) 225-2223 • Fax: (804) 786-9149 • www.vdacs.virginia.gov 

APPLICATION FOR VIRGINIA PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE 
to sell, distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use. 

The annual business license fee is $75.00.  Licenses expire on March 31 each year and are not pro-rated or otherwise 
adjusted regardless of when issued.  Please make check payable to: Treasurer of Virginia. (1) Mail application, (2) 
check, and (3) evidence of financial responsibility to the above address. If you have any questions, please contact 
804-225-2223 or send an email to opsclrt.vdacs@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

ATTACH A COPY OF THE LIABILITY INSURANCE CERTIFICATE TO THIS APPLICATION 

Please type or print the following information: 

LEGAL NAME OF BUSINESS:      

TRADING AS:   

FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER:   

MAILING ADDRESS          CITY:   

COUNTY:         STATE:         ZIP CODE:    

EMAIL ADDRESS: __________________________________________________ 

NAME OF AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE:   

TITLE:          BUSINESS PHONE NO.   
I certify that I understand my legal responsibilities for the use, supervision of use, sale, distribution, or storage of 
pesticides, and that if I sell pesticides, I will sell restricted use pesticides only to individuals who possess a valid pesticide 
applicators certificate, or to their representative. 

SIGNATURE OF REPRESENTATIVE:      DATE: _________________ 

This business will engage in the following (CHECK ALL THAT APPLY): 
____ SELLING GENERAL USE PESTICIDES ____ DISTRIBUTION ____ APPLYING PESTICIDES* 

____ STORAGE        ____ BULK STORAGE 

____ RECOMMENDING FOR USE ANY PESTICIDE* __ __SELLING RESTRICTED USE PESTICIDES* 

*Requires a designated certified commercial applicator (CCA) to be employed; provide information below: 

Name of Designated CCA:        Certificate Number: 

Commercial Applicators must submit an Applicator Change of Information Form to the Office of Pesticide Services to 
indicate whether they will be changing employers or adding an employer. Adding a second employer requires a certificate 
fee of $25. Change of Information Forms can be found on the VDACS Services/Forms page under “Pesticide Services”.   

BUSINESS PHYSICAL LOCATION ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE (REQUIRED IF ABOVE IS PO BOX): 

STREET: CITY: 

COUNTY:            STATE:   ZIP CODE: 

BUSINESS BILLING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE: 

STREET:    CITY: 

COUNTY:             STATE:    ZIP CODE: 

AMOUNT TO REMIT: $75.00 

VDACS ACCT. 757-09-02438 

VDACS-07209     01/2025 

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY: 
Business License No.: 

Date Keyed: 
Keyed by: 

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/
mailto:opsclrt.vdacs@vdacs.virginia.gov




VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 
OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES 

P. O. Box 526 • Richmond, VA 23218 (Fees) 
P.O. Box 1163 • Richmond, VA 23218 (No Fees) 

Phone: (804) 786-3798 • Fax: (804) 786-9149 • www.vdacs.virginia.gov 

Please return by mail to one of addresses above or if no fees FAX to (804) 786-9149. Questions? Call (804) 786-3798 
Rev. 01/2025 

□ Private 
□ RT 
□ CCA 

Note: Government employees switching to private sector 
employment will owe an initial certification fee of $25 for CCAs 
and $25 for RTs at the time of requesting change of employer. 

APPLICATOR CHANGE OF INFORMATION 
Applicator Name: ____________________________________ Certificate No. ___________ 

Email: _________________________________________  Home Phone #: (____) ____ - _________ 
                   Area Code 

NOTICE TO THE APPLICATOR: 
Your Virginia Commercial Pesticide Applicator (CCA) certificate or Registered Technician (RT) certificate is issued to YOU 
by the VDACS’ Office of Pesticide Services (OPS), and it is YOUR responsibility to maintain it, regardless of your employer. By 
notifying OPS you may transfer your certificate from one employer or location to another. The Office of Pesticide Services will 
contact you by mail one to three times a year (training status report, renewal notice, new certificate) to enable you to maintain 
your certificate. It is important for you to keep us informed of any change in your mailing address or phone number. 
  

CHANGE OF STATUS 

Please change my certificate from an “Active” status to an “Inactive” status. (Home Address Required) 

Please change my certificate from an “Inactive” status to an “Active” status. (Business Info Required) 

CHANGE OF EMPLOYER:   

ADD SECOND EMPLOYER: 

  New Employer/Business Name:  ___________________________________________________ 
   
VA Pesticide Business License #: ________________ 

         
Business Phone #:  (_______) ________ - ____________ 

      Area Code   
  Business Fax #: (_______) ________ - ____________   

          Area Code   

CHANGE OF APPLICATOR MAILING ADDRESS: 

Prior Mailing: New Mailing: 

HOME ADDRESS: In order to keep your files current, the Office of Pesticide Services also keeps a record of your 
current home address. Please provide the information below if it is not the same as the new mailing address above 
or check “Same as mailing” if it is the same: 

Same as mailing Street/RFD: 

City, State, Zip: 

AUTHORIZATION STATEMENT: 
I understand that it is my responsibility to maintain my certificate and that all information provided on this form is 
accurate and up to date. I wish for all mailings from the Office of Pesticide Services to be sent to the address 
specified on this form.  

Signature of Applicator (Required):____________________________________ Date: ____________ 

If your new employer does not yet hold a 
Pesticide Business License (PBL), check 
one of the following: 

□ PBL Application and Fee Attached 
□ PBL Application and Fee Submitted 

Separately 

Note: Adding a Second Employer requires a certificate fee of 
$25 for CCAs or $25 for Registered Technicians. 

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/




*****  CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE ***** 

To the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services: 
I hereby certify that Policy # _________________________ provides coverage, in the form of a general liability policy 
from a person authorized to do business in Virginia or a certification thereof, protecting persons who may 
suffer legal damages as a result of the use of any pesticide by the applicant.  This policy is in a minimum of: 

$___________________________ for property damage, $______________________ for personal injury and 
$___________________________ per occurrence. 

$___________________________ deductible amount (see reverse for deductible requirements) 

Exclusions (please specify): _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

This policy has been issued to: 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Name of Insured)      (Address) 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Trading As, or D.B.A.)     (Address) 

Policy term: Effective date: _________________________________   Expiration date: __________________________________ 

In the event of cancellation, the insurer agrees to advise the VDACS Office of Pesticide Services, by 
written notice, at least 10 days prior to the effective date of cancellation. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Insurance Company Providing Coverage) 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Agency Issuing Policy)      (Company Seal or Stamp) 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Street)     (City)    (State)   (Zip) 

_X__________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________ 
(Signature - Authorized Representative)     (Date of Certificate) 

For acceptance by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, this form must be 
properly completed, validated and signed by the issuing insurance agency.  Mail completed certificate 
to the address below. 
Certificate Holder:   Office of Pesticide Services 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
P. O. Box 1163 
Richmond, Virginia  23218 

4-5-96          (see reverse side)      VDACS-07214 
  



EVIDENCE OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY REQUIRED OF 

A LICENSED PESTICIDE BUSINESS 

DEFINITION: "Pesticide business" means any person engaged in the business of distributing, applying or 
recommending the use of a product; or storing, selling, or offering for sale pesticides directly to the user.   The 
term "pesticide business" does not include (I) wood treaters not for hire; (ii) seed treaters not for hire; (iii) 
operations which produce agricultural products unless the owners or operators of such operations described 
in clauses (I), (ii), and (iii) are engaged in the business of selling or offering for sale pesticides, or distributing 
pesticides to persons outside of that agricultural producing operations in connection with commercial 
transactions; or (iv) businesses exempted by regulations adopted by the Board. 

Prior to being issued a pesticide business license, a business shall furnish evidence of financial 
responsibility consisting  of a liability insurance policy, or certification thereof, protecting persons who may 
suffer legal damages as a result of the use of any pesticides by the applicant.   Such financial responsibility 
need not apply to damages or injury to agricultural crops, plants or property being worked upon by the 
applicant. 

Minimum Insurance Requirements 

$100,000 for property damage 
$100,000 for personal injury and $300,000 per occurrence. 

A deductible clause in an amount which is usual and customary in the industry, with the provision that 
the insurer shall pay all claims in full and that the amount of the deductible shall be recoverable only from the 
insured, may be accepted. 

The business licensee shall maintain at least the minimum coverage at all times during the license 
period, and shall provide a current certificate of insurance to the Office of Pesticide Services at each 
insurance renewal date. 

Note - This certificate is for use only in providing proof of liability insurance coverage. 

Revised form - This form supersedes all previous certificate of insurance forms issued by the VDACS Office of 
Pesticide Services. 



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 
OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES 

P. O. Box 526 • Richmond, VA 23218 
Phone: (804) 225-2223 • Fax: (804) 786-9149 • www.vdacs.virginia.gov 

REQUEST TO TAKE THE VIRGINIA PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE EXAMINATION 

For businesses that only sell pesticides and are not required to have a certified commercial applicator. 
Before this request to take the Virginia Pesticide Business License examination can be processed, the (1) 
application for Pesticide Business License must be completed and submitted to the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services at the address above along with the (2) $75.00 annual business license 
fee and (3) evidence of financial responsibility. If you have any questions, please call 804-225-2223 or 
send an email to opsclrt.vdacs@vdacs.virginia.gov.   

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION: 

Person taking the Virginia Pesticide Business License Exam: 

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. or ITIN (REQUIRED): _______ - ______  - _______ DATE OF BIRTH:  _____/_____/_______ 
DAY/MONTH/YEAR 

HOME PHONE NO.:___________________________ EMAIL:  ____________________________________________ 

NAME OF APPLICANT: ___________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Last) (First) (M.I.) 

MAILING ADDRESS: ______________________________________________     COUNTY: ___________________________ 
(Street or RFD) 

CITY: ________________________________________________   STATE: __________     ZIP CODE: __________________ 

Business Name: 

LEGAL NAME OF BUSINESS: _____________________________________________________________________________ 

TRADING AS: ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

BUSINESS LICENSE NO.:  _____________________  BUSINESS PHONE NO:__________________________________ 
(Leave blank if New)        (Area Code) 

Business Mailing Address: 

MAILING ADDRESS: ____________________________________________________   CITY:  ________________________ 

COUNTY: ___________________________________    STATE: _____________ ZIP CODE:  __________________________ 

Business Physical Location Address: 

STREET: _____________________________________________   CITY: ____________________________________________ 

COUNTY: __________________________________________   STATE: ________________ ZIP CODE: __________________ 

SIGNATURE: ________________________________________________________  DATE:   ____________ 

Eff. 01/2025 

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY: 
Business License No:         

Date Keyed: 

Keyed by: 

mailto:opsclrt.vdacs@vdacs.virginia.gov
https://www.vdacs.virginia.gov
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