VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES

OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES
PO Box 526 ¢ Richmond, VA 23218
102 Governor Street, Lower Level, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 786-3798 « Fax: (804) 786-9149 « www.vdacs.virginia.gov

COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR A
CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

In accordance with the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and regulations adopted there under, application is hereby made for
CERTIFICATION as a Commercial Applicator in Virginia.

The two-year non-refundable certification fee is $ 70.00. Please make check payable to: Treasurer of Virginia.
Mail application and check to the above address. Federal, State, and Local Government employees are exempt from
fee. Certificates expire on June 30.

CERTIFICATE CLASS DESIRED (Please check only one of the following four classes of certification listed below):

H COMMERCIAL (FOR-HIRE) GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE
NOT-FOR-HIRE COMMERCIAL INACTIVE (Not Currently Employed)
Please type or print the following information: E-Mail Address:
SOCIAL SECURITY # (REQUIRED) : - - HOME PHONE #
NAME OF APPLICANT:

(Last) (First) (M. 1.)
MAILING ADDRESS: (Street or RFD) COUNTY:
CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:
EMPLOYED BY (Company or agency you work for:
VIRGINIA PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE NO.: BUSINESS PHONE NO.:
BUSINESS ADDRESS: (Street or RFD), COUNTY:
CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:

Please check all of the appropriate qualifications below by which you are eligible to apply for a Commercial Pesticide
Applicator Certification:

[] Currently hold a valid Virginia Registered Technician Certificate and have worked in Virginia as a Certified
Registered Technician for at least one year. Please print your certificate number:
Have at least one year of experience as a certified or non-certified applicator in a pesticide related field.
Have at least one year of formal education and/or training in a pesticide related field.

Please give a brief explanation, including dates, of your experience, training, and/or education:

I request to be examined for the core exam*** and the following category exams (please refer to the description of
certification categories listed in the instructions):

CATEGORY NO. CATEGORY TITLE CATEGORY NO. CATEGORY TITLE
1) ®3)
() (4)

*** The core exam is not required for individuals requiring certification in category 5B - Marine Antifoulant Paints.

| certify by signing below that | am the person applying for certification and that | meet the eligibility requirements for

commercial certification. | further certify that | have been trained in the specific skills necessary to properly apply

{)/estjc;des in the performance of my job, and | agree to abide by all laws and regulations governing pesticide usage in
irginia.

Signature of Applicant: Date:

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY APPLICATION FEE: $70.00

Certificate No.: VDACS ACCT. 756-09-02656
Dit:ylégyg;lf VDACS-07211 09/16

(SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR TRAINING/ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS)


http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR
COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION

Prior to making application for COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR certification, a prospective
applicant must first complete Board-approved training. Board-approved training consists of, at a
minimum, self study and review of all the material contained in the most current edition of the Virginia
Pesticide Applicator Certification Training CORE Manual, and other category-specific manuals related
to the specific type of work to be performed. (These manuals may be obtained for a nominal fee from
the Virginia Tech Pesticide Programs website at http://www.vtpp.org.)

In order to be eligible to make application for COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR certification, you
must first meet at least one of the following requirements:

1. Must currently hold a valid Virginia Registered Technician certification, AND must have worked
as a Virginia certified Registered Technician for at least one year; OR;

2. Must have at least one year of education, training, or experience in a pesticide-related field
which provides at least the equivalent practical knowledge of proper pesticide use required of a
Registered Technician.

All COMMERCIAL APPLICATORS (with the exception of not-for-hire commercial applicators
and government employees) must either obtain, or work for a firm that has obtained, a Virginia
Pesticide Business License issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION
FOR COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION

1. Return completed application with payment. (Government employees are fee- exempt.) If you
meet the above requirements, you will be sent a Notice of Authorization to take the certification
exams.

2. Within 90 days of the date of the Notice of Authorization, report to an approved testing location
to take the written exams. Computerized exams at the DMV Customer Service Centers are
scored as you are taking them, and you will be notified of your score as you complete each
exam. Written exams taken at VDACS testing centers will be sent to the Office of Pesticide
Services in Richmond to be scored.

3. If you pass the Core and one or more category examinations, the Office of Pesticide Services
(OPS) will notify you, and send you your certificate, generally within 10 work days. If you take
and pass your exams at one of the DMV Customer Service Centers, you will be issued a
temporary certificate good for seven days. Your permanent certificate will be mailed to you by
OPS within seven days.


http://www.vtpp.org/

