### VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES

P. O. Box 526 • Richmond, VA 23218 Phone: (804) 786-3798 • Fax: (804) 786-9149 • <u>www.vdacs.virginia.gov</u>

COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR

## COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR REQUEST FOR REEXAMINATION APPLICATION

(Do not use this form for initial certification or certificate renewal)

CA-B

In accordance with the Virginia Pesticide Control Act and regulations adopted thereunder, application is hereby made to take one or more written examinations for **Commercial Pesticide Applicator**. (SEE PAGE 2 AND 3 FOR DEFINITIONS AND CATEGORIES)

Currently Certified Applicator testing for one or r Reinstating an expired certificate. \$25.00 applic	xpired Notice of Authorization. \$25.00 application fee. more additional pest control categories. \$25.00 application	n fee.
	check payable to: <b>Treasurer of Virginia</b> . Mail the application of the control of the description of the description of the year provided on the certificate.	
CERTIFICATE CLASS DESIRED (Please check only only only only only only only only	one of the following four classes of certification listed belo ☐ GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE (G) ☐ INACTIVE (Not Currently Employed) (I)	w):
Please type or print the following information:	EMAIL ADDRESS:	
SOCIAL SECURITY No. or ITIN ( <b>REQUIRED</b> )	CERTIFICATE #	
NAME OF APPLICANT:	irst) (M.I.) DOB: / MM / DD	1
MAILING ADDRESS:(Street or RFD)	COUNTY:	
CITY:	STATE: ZIP CODE:	
EMPLOYED BY (Company or agency you work for):		
VA PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE NO.:	BUSINESS PHONE NO.:	
BUSINESS ADDRESS:	COUNTY:	
GHY:	STATE: ZIP CODE:	
request to be examined in the following categories (plea	ase refer to the description of certification categories listed on pa	age 2):
CATEGORY NO. CATEGORY TITLE	CATEGORY NO. CATEGORY TITL	
(1) (2)	(3) (4)	
( <b>Please note</b> : If you are retaking exams and have not yet pa are required to take and pass the Core Exam in addition to a	assed the Core Exam, or if you are reinstating an expired certificany category specific exams you may have listed above.)	ation, you
to properly apply pesticides in the performance of my job, an	ertification and I have the necessary experience, training and/or ad I agree to abide by all laws and regulations governing pesticide deligible for pesticide certification in the Commonwealth of Virgi	le usage in
Signature of Applicant:	Date:	
FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY:	APPLICATION FEE:	\$25.00
Certificate No.:	ADDING A CATEGORY ONLY:	\$25.00
Date Issued:	VDACS ACCT. 7	756-09-02656
Keyed By:	VDACS-07218	Eff. 01/2025

## ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR COMMERCIAL APPLICATION

All Commercial Applicators (with the exception of not-for-hire commercial applicators and government employees) must either obtain, or work for a firm that has obtained, a Virginia Pesticide Business License issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. If you are applying to take the aerial applicator exam, you must submit a copy of your FAA commercial pilot license or remote pilot certificate (14 CFR Part 107) and the Part 137 Aircraft Operations Certificate for your business.

Prior to applying to take the **Commercial Applicator (CCA)** certification exams, prospective applicants must first obtain and study the most current editions of the Virginia Pesticide Applicator Certification Training CORE Manual, and the category-specific manual(s) related to the specific type of work to be performed. These manuals may be obtained for a nominal fee from the Virginia Tech Pesticide Programs website at <a href="https://vtpp.ento.vt.edu">https://vtpp.ento.vt.edu</a>.

# INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION (B) FOR COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION

- 1. This form is intended only for those applicants who have previously submitted a Commercial Applicator Form A. If you have never applied to become a Certified Commercial Applicator (CCA), please use Form A.
- Return completed application with the corresponding payment (Government employees are feeexempt). Once your application is approved, you will be sent a Notice of Authorization to take the certification exams. <u>You may not be permitted to test without supplying your Notice of</u> <u>Authorization at the time of testing.</u>
- 3. Within 90 days of the date of the Notice of Authorization, report to an approved testing location to take the written exams. Computerized exams at the DMV Customer Service Centers are scored as you are taking them, and you will be notified of your score as you complete each exam. Written exams taken at VDACS testing centers will be sent to the Office of Pesticide Services in Richmond to be scored.
- 4. Each Notice of Authorization is valid for only **one** testing session. Retakes are not permitted without reapplying to test. If you fail your exam(s) or your Authorization expires and you have not tested, you must re-apply to test using the **Commercial Applicator Form B**.
- 5. To be considered certified (CCA), you must pass a minimum of the core exam and at least one category exam. Failure of one or both exams will require you to retest to obtain your certification. If you have passed the Core and at least one or more category examinations, the Office of Pesticide Services (OPS) will notify you, and send you your certificate, generally within 10 working days. If you take and pass your exam(s) at one of the DMV Customer Service Centers, you will be issued a temporary certificate good for seven days. Your permanent certificate will be mailed to you by OPS within seven days.
- 6. Once you have obtained your certification, you are responsible for maintaining an active certificate through recertification training and renewing your certificate biennially. Your expiration AND recertification deadlines will be displayed on your certificate. It is your responsibility to notify OPS of any mailing address or employer changes to ensure you receive updates on when to recertify and renew. Should your certificate expire for any reason, you will be required to re-take all examinations needed to reinstate your certificate.

If you have further questions or need additional help applying, call our office at (804) 786-3798 or email <a href="mailto:opsclrt.vdacs@vdacs.virginia.gov">opsclrt.vdacs@vdacs.virginia.gov</a>.

Category <u>Number</u>	Category Title
1-A	Agricultural Plant Pest Control
1-B	Agricultural Animal Pest Control
1-C	Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural Products
1-D	Agricultural Chemigation
2	Forest Pest Control
3-A	Ornamental Pest Control
3-B	Turf Pest Control
4	Seed Treatment **
5-A	Aquatic Pest Control - General
5-B	Marine Antifoulant Paints
6	Right-Of-Way Pest Control
7-A	General Pest Control (Including Food Processing) **
7-B	Wood Destroying Pest Control**
7-C	Fumigation (non-agricultural)
7-D	Vertebrate Pest Control (excluding structural invaders) **
7-E	Sewer Root Pest Control
8	Public Health Pest Control
9	Regulatory Pest Control
10	Demonstration and Research Pest Control
11	Aerial Pesticide Application
12	Wood Preservation and Wood Products Treatment
**	excluding fumigation

#### **Definitions:**

**Commercial applicator** means any applicator who has completed the requirements as determined by the board, including appropriate training and time in service, to apply for a certification, and who uses or supervises the use of any pesticide for any purpose or on any property other than as provided in the definition of private applicator.

**Commercial applicator not for hire** means any commercial applicator who uses or supervises the use of pesticides as part of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or his employer. This definition shall also apply to governmental employees who use or supervise the use of pesticides, whether on property owned or leased by them or their employers or not, in the performance of their official duties.

**Currently Certified Applicator** refers to any individual who has passed a minimum of both the core exam and one category exam and maintains an active certificate.

**Renewal** is required biennially by June 30<sup>th</sup> of the year indicated on your certificate. This is accomplished by submitting a commercial renewal application before the expiration date listed on the applicator's certificate.

**Recertification** is also required biennially. This is accomplished by attendance at a Virginia approved recertification course for each category you wish to maintain, or by re-testing in lieu of attending training courses. You are required to take at least one course in a two-year period but can take enough courses to obtain four years of credit.