
2020 Legislative Updates Animal Control Officers 
 

Effective July 1, 2020, the following changes will be made to the Code of Virginia’s Comprehensive Animal Care 
laws as a result of the 2020 Virginia General Assembly session.  Please familiarize yourself with the full text of 
these changes as they appear in Code and contact your department’s legal advisor with any questions regarding how 
the changes will affect your duties. 
 

Section(s) Topic Summary of changes Full Text 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
§3.2-6500 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tethering animals; 
Adequate shelter 
and space 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

- Provides that the outdoor tethering of an animal 
does not meet the requirement of adequate 
shelter during a hurricane warning or tropical 
storm warning or if the animal is not safe from 
predators or well suited or equipped to tolerate 
its environment. The bill provides that unless an 
animal control officer has inspected an animal's 
individual circumstances and determined it to be 
safe from predators and well suited and equipped 
to tolerate its environment, no such outdoor 
tethering during a heat advisory, a severe 
weather warning, or a period when the 
temperature is 85 degrees Fahrenheit or higher 
or 32 degrees Fahrenheit or lower shall 
constitute the provision of adequate shelter. 

- The measure increases the minimum tether 
length required to constitute adequate space to 
15 feet in length or four times the length of the 
animal, whichever is greater. Current law 
requires the tether to be at least 10 feet in length 
or three times the length of the animal, 
whichever is greater. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=sb272 



 
 
 
§3.2-6500 
   (cont.) 

 
 
Tethering animals; 
Adequate shelter 
and space (cont.) 

- The bill provides an exception for a case in which 
an animal control officer, having inspected an 
animal's individual circumstances, determines 
that a shorter tether of at least 10 feet or three 
times the length of the animal makes the animal 
safer, more suited, and better equipped to 
tolerate its environment than a longer tether 
would.  

§3.2-6403 
Domesticated 
Animal Pathogen 
Liability 

- Provides that no owner or operator of a 
domesticated animal premises, defined in the 
bill, shall be liable for damages arising from a 
claim by a person visiting such premises alleging 
injury or death caused by a domesticated animal 
pathogen if the owner or operator took 
reasonable precautions to prevent the 
transmission of such pathogen. 

- The bill also requires the posting of a warning 
sign and the provision of a hand-washing station 
at the premises and provides that liability may 
arise if the person proves that no warning sign 
was posted or hand-washing station provided as 
required. 

- The provision of the bill protecting the owner or 
operator from liability shall not apply if the 
transmission of the pathogen was due to the 
owner's or operator's gross negligence, willful 
and wanton conduct, or intentional act. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=hb764 



§3.2-6546 Animal shelters; 
housing conditions 

- Requires certain housing, space, and care 
conditions for an animal that is confined by the 
operator or custodian of a public or private 
animal shelter or releasing agency during an 
applicable stray hold period. 

- The bill requires different conditions after such 
stray hold period ends, including requirements 
related to materials and construction of facilities, 
indoor and outdoor enclosures, and separation of 
certain animals. 

- The bill also requires any regulation by the 
Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services that 
applies to an animal not subject to a stray hold 
period to not be so restrictive as to fail to allow 
for adequate care, exercise, and space, including 
meaningful indoor and outdoor recreation for the 
animal. 

 

 
 
 
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=sb786 

§3.2-5901.1 
§3.2-6500 
§3.2-6501.1 

Animal welfare 
regulations; keeping 
of animals; State 
Animal Welfare 
Inspector 

- Directs the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services to adopt comprehensive regulations 
governing the keeping of dogs and cats by any 
pet shop by July 1, 2022. The regulations are to 
require a $250 annual registration fee for any 
private, for-profit entity required to register, and, 
where necessary, shall establish standards that 
apply only to a particular category of currently 
unregulated entity. 

- Creates the position of State Animal Welfare 
Inspector as an employee of VDACS and directs 
the Inspector (or representative) to conduct at 
least one unannounced, annual inspection of 
each pet shop. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=sb891 



§3.2-6587 
§18.2-403.1 
§18.2-403.3 

Rabid animals 

- Makes it a Class 1 misdemeanor for an owner of 
a dog or cat who permits such dog or cat to stray 
from his premises when he knows or has been 
told by the local health department, law-
enforcement agency, animal control agency, or 
any other person who has a duty to control or 
respond to a risk of rabies exposure that the dog 
or cat is suspected of having rabies. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=hb1573 

§3.2-6594 
§3.2-6595 
§3.2-6596 

Dangerous captive 
animal exhibits; 
penalty 

- Prohibits a keeper of dangerous captive animals, 
defined in the bill, from providing or offering to 
provide to any member of the public, for free or 
for a cost, direct contact with such dangerous 
captive animal. 

- The bill provides that a violation is a Class 3 
misdemeanor and that the keeper is subject to a 
fine of not more than $500. 

- The bill has a delayed effective date of July 1, 
2021. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=sb1030 

§3.2-6513.1 
§3.2-6514 
§3.2-6515 
§3.2-6519 
§59.1-200 

Comprehensive 
animal care; 
enforceable under 
Virginia Consumer 
Protection Act 

- Subjects certain animal care statutes to 
enforcement under the Virginia Consumer 
Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq.). These statutes 
relate to the posting of information about dogs 
and to written notice of consumer remedies 
required to be provided by pet shops, pet dealers, 
and animal boarding establishments. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=sb114 



§3.2-6511.2 
Import and sale of 
dogs from certain 
breeders; penalty 

- Prohibits any dealer or commercial dog breeder 
from importing for sale, selling, or offering for 
sale any dog bred by a person who has received 
certain citations pursuant to enforcement of the 
federal Animal Welfare Act. A violation is a 
Class 1 misdemeanor. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=sb303 

§3.2-6513.2 

Rental or lease of 
dog or cat 
prohibited; civil 
penalty 

- Prohibits the rental or lease of a dog or cat to a 
consumer, including by a purported sale of the 
animal in a manner that vests less than full 
equity in the consumer at the time of the 
purported sale. 

- The bill prohibits the sale of a dog or cat in which 
the animal is subject to repossession upon 
default of the agreement and prohibits any 
financial institution from offering a loan for 
which the animal is subject to repossession upon 
default of the loan. 

- The bill provides that a violation of the 
provisions of the bill is a violation of the 
Consumer Protection Act and a business that 
violates the provisions of the bill may also have 
its retail license suspended or revoked. 

- The bill exempts certain animals from its 
prohibitions, including purebred dogs leased for 
breeding; dogs or cats used in spectator events, 
motion pictures, racing, or other entertainment; 
and service dogs, guide or leader dogs, security 
dogs, law-enforcement dogs, military working 
dogs, and certified facility dogs. The bill has a 
delayed effective date of January 1, 2021. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi‐
bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=
bil&val=sb742 

 
Produced by the VDACS Office of Veterinary Services. Contact us at 804-692-4001 or animalcare@vdacs.virginia.gov. 


