
Food Safety Annual Fees--Frequently Asked Questions 
 
1. Last year I received an invoice for $100 for the annual food safety fee 
which was started in 2002; why am I receiving a bill for $40 this year? 
 
The Appropriations Act passed by the 2002 Virginia General Assembly reduced 
the food safety appropriations of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services (VDACS)  while simultaneously authorizing the collection of 
an annual fee, not to exceed $40. Beginning in July 2002, the agency began 
charging every establishment that is subject to inspection pursuant to Chapter 51 
of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia, commonly referred to as the Virginia Food 
Laws, an annual $40 inspection fee to try to replace the reduction in the agency’s 
food safety appropriations.  During the 2010 Virginia General Assembly, this 
annual fee was increased from $40 to $100.  During the 2011 session of the 
Virginia General Assembly, this annual fee was decreased back to the initial $40 
amount. 
 
2. I do not cook food in my store. Do I still have to pay the fee? 
 
Not necessarily.  The fee applies to any establishment that manufactures, 
produces, processes, packs, exposes, offers, possesses or holds articles of food 
for sale. This includes grocery stores and supermarkets, convenience stores, 
food manufacturers and processors, food/beverage warehouses, and other 
similar establishments.  However, the 2004 General Assembly passed legislation 
that exempts from inspection and the annual food safety fee retail establishments 
that: 
 

(a) Do not prepare or serve food; 
(b) Sell only food or beverages that are sealed in packaging by the 

manufacturer and have been officially inspected in the manufacturing 
process; 

(c) Do not sell infant formulas; 
(d) Do not sell salvaged foods; and, 
(e) Certify to VDACS that they meet the foregoing provisions. 

 
3. I did not ask your agency to inspect my store. Why do I have to pay an 
annual fee? 
 
It does not matter if you requested an inspection or not. Inspections of food 
establishments are required by the Virginia Food Laws. Section 3.2-5130 of the 
Code of Virginia states that no person shall operate a food manufacturing plant, 
food storage warehouse, or retail food store until it has been inspected by 
VDACS. 
 
4. I have not been inspected by your agency in over a year. Why do I have 
to pay an “annual food safety fee” for an inspection I have not received? 



 
Frequency of inspections of food establishments is based on risk. A high-risk 
establishment may be inspected several times during a year, while a low risk 
establishment may not be inspected every year. Therefore, your establishment 
may not receive an inspection every year. However, because your establishment 
is still subject to an inspection by VDACS, the annual fee would still apply. 
 
5. My facility only stores wine and other alcoholic beverages. I do not feel 
this fee applies to me. 
 
Section 3.2-5120 of the Code of Virginia defines “food” as all articles used for 
food, drink, confectionery or condiment, whether simple, mixed or compound, 
and all substances or ingredients used in the preparation thereof. Wine and other 
alcoholic beverages fall within the definition of food and therefore are subject to 
inspection under the Virginia Food Laws. Consequently, the annual food safety 
fee will apply to such establishments. 
 
6. We only process and/or store soda. Does the fee still apply to me? 
 
Yes. Once again, such a product falls within the definition of food, and the facility 
is subject to our inspection. 
 
7. What are inspectors looking for when they inspect my facility? In other 
words, what are they inspecting? 
 
The agency’s Food Safety Specialists, also known as inspectors, are ensuring 
that any food or beverages that are manufactured, produced, processed, packed, 
exposed, offered, possessed or held for sale in the facility are safe for human 
consumption, and in compliance with other provisions of the Virginia Food Laws 
and related regulations. These inspectors look for evidence of insanitary 
conditions, mislabeling of food products, and mishandling of food products that 
can lead to consumers being exposed to unsafe foods. 
 
8. What if my establishment is no longer in business? 
 
If your establishment is no longer in business, you may indicate this on your 
invoice and return the invoice to our agency. The annual fee does not apply to an 
out-of-business establishment, and your invoice will be voided. 
 
9. I have a herb/vitamin/health food store. Why do I have to pay an annual 
fee? 
 
Dietary supplements, vitamins, herbs, and health foods all fall within the definition 
of food and are therefore subject to inspection.  However, if your establishment 
meets the exemption provisions identified in the response to question 2, you do 



not have to pay the fee.  Please see the response to question 2 to determine if 
you qualify for such an exemption. 
 
10. What happens if I do not pay my bill? 
 
If you do not pay your bill, you will receive two additional notices in the mail. If 
after these additional notices, you choose not to pay your bill, the matter will be 
handled based on policies established within the agency for nonpayment of fees 
and subsequent collection of outstanding fees. This may include the use of a 
collection agency or the State’s debt set-off program. 
 
11. I don’t understand what time frame the annual food safety fee bill is 
covering. Is it for the previous year? 
 
The annual fee covers a twelve-month period that coincides with the 
Commonwealth of Virginia’s fiscal year, and runs from July 1 through June 30 of 
each year. Invoices mailed beginning July 1, 2011 cover the time period of July 
1, 2011 through June 30, 2012.  
 
12. I do not appreciate being charged for services that I am required to 
have by law. I am a small business who does not make a lot of money, and I 
do not appreciate being charged a $40 fee all of a sudden. Who should I 
speak to about having this fee removed? 
 
The implementation of the annual fee was authorized by the 2002 Appropriations 
Act, which was passed by the Virginia General Assembly. If you do not agree 
with the provisions of the 2002 Appropriations Act, you should voice your 
concerns to your state legislators. 
 
13. My local health department inspects me. Why do I have to be inspected 
by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services? 
 
Unless an establishment is specifically exempted, the Virginia Food Laws apply 
to any establishment where food is manufactured, produced, processed, packed, 
exposed, offered, possessed or held for sale. This includes grocery stores and 
supermarkets, convenience stores, food manufacturers and processors, 
food/beverage warehouses, and other similar establishments. The Virginia Food 
Laws are not applied to restaurants, where the State health code is applied under 
the jurisdiction of local health departments. If you are operating any food 
establishment that is subject to inspection pursuant to the Virginia Food Laws, 
you are under the jurisdiction of and inspected by VDACS as part of a statewide 
food safety program. 
 
Some local health departments, through ordinances passed by local 
governments, also inspect retail food stores, or portions thereof, in addition to 
restaurants and other food service operations. If your establishment is paying a 



local food safety inspection or permit fee, and the local health department is 
inspecting the entire retail establishment, you are only responsible to VDACS for 
the difference between the local fee and $40. In other words, if your local food 
safety annual fee is $25, you only owe VDACS $15. You should indicate this 
information on your invoice and return this information with your remittance. 
 
However, if you operate a retail food store that includes a food service 
establishment or a restaurant, and the local health department only permits and 
inspects the food service or restaurant portion of the store, VDACS still maintains 
responsibility for the rest of the retail food store operation, and you are 
responsible for remitting the entire $40 annual fee to VDACS, regardless of the 
fee that you must pay to the locality for your food service operation. 
 
14. The letter sent to me with the annual food safety fee bill says that if I 
pay certain other fees, then I am not required to pay the $40 fee. I pay a fee 
for the fire marshal to inspect my exhaust hood, and I have to pay to have 
my water treated. Does this mean I don’t have to pay the annual food safety 
fee? 
 
Unless you qualify for an exemption, the only time the $40 annual food safety fee 
would not apply is if your local health department inspects your entire facility and 
charges you a similar inspection or permit fee, as explained in the answer to 
question 13. Other fees that are not related to food safety inspections would not 
affect the VDACS $40 inspection fee. 
 
15. I am a non-profit organization. Do I still need to pay the fee? 
 
The 2003 session of the General Assembly amended the Appropriations Act to 
provide an exemption from the annual fee for certain non-profit organizations.  
That amended language reads as follows: “Any food bank, second harvest 
certified food bank, food bank member charity, or other food related activity 
which is exempt from taxation under 26 U.S.C § 501 (c) (3), which maintains a 
food handling or storage facility, or any food-related program operated by any 
Community Services Board, as defined in Title 37.1, Chapter 10, Code of 
Virginia, shall be exempt from this annual food safety fee.”  Consequently, the 
food establishments identified by this language will continue to be subject to 
inspection, but are not required to pay the annual fee. 
    
16. I have a home-based business. I only make and sell a small amount of 
cakes or cookies each year. Do I still need to pay the fee? 
 
Yes. The size of your operation does not affect whether or not you need to pay 
the $40 fee. All establishments, regardless of size, subject to inspection pursuant 
to the Virginia Food Laws, are subject to the annual food safety fee. 
 



17. I am a vendor at a farmers’ market. Do I have to pay for my operation to 
be inspected as well as my station at the farmers’ market? 
 
Vendors at farmers’ markets are billed for their individual manufacturing or 
processing operation, whether that takes place in their home or at another place 
of business. It is not our intent to bill you twice, once for the market and once for 
your manufacturing or processing operation. The market manager of each 
farmer’s market is billed separately for the market itself. If you receive an invoice 
for each location, please contact the Office of Food Safety so that we can resolve 
this situation. 
 
18. I am a produce grower. Do I need to pay the fee? 
 
If you are only growing produce (i.e. fresh fruits and vegetables, but not including 
sprouts), then you are not required to pay the annual food safety fee. You are 
probably on our inventory because our inspectors stop by your farm on occasion 
to collect samples for pesticide residue analysis. If you have received an invoice 
requesting payment of the annual fee, please return your invoice indicating that 
you are a produce grower and do not pay the fee. If, however, you grow sprouts 
for distribution to restaurants or retail stores, you are classified as a food 
manufacturer and you are required to be under inspection and therefore must 
pay the annual food safety fee. 
 
19. I own several facilities in a localized area. Do I need to pay a separate 
fee for each facility? 
 
Yes. The annual food safety fee applies to each facility location that is subject to 
inspection pursuant to the Virginia Food Laws. 
 
20. I own a chain store and have many stores across the state of Virginia. I 
have only received a bill for two of my stores. Do I need to pay for the 
stores at other locations? Do I need to alert you of the stores that are not 
on your inventory and are therefore not receiving a bill? 
 
It is our intent to bill chain operations with one invoice, to be sent to the corporate 
or home office, and the invoice amount to cover all of the establishments 
operated by that chain. In some instances, certain chain stores have been 
incorrectly identified within our database and individual locations have received 
invoices. If that situation occurs, please contact the Office of Dairy and Foods, 
and we will work with you to appropriately resolve the situation. You will need to 
pay for your stores at other locations, but we want to make certain that individual 
locations are not being billed twice. 
 
If you believe that we have not billed you for all of your stores, you should notify 
the Office of Dairy and Foods, and you should supply information about the 
location of those stores that do not appear on our inventory. 



 
21. My store sells hunting supplies, beach supplies, clothes, and many 
other non-food items. We only sell some packaged coffee, juice drinks, 
soda, and chips. Do I still need to pay the fee? 
 
Not necessarily.  If your establishment meets the exemption provisions identified 
in the response to question 2, you do not have to pay the fee.  Please see the 
response to question 2 to determine if you qualify for such an exemption. 


