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VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES  
OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES  

P. O. Box 1163  •  Richmond, VA 23218 
Phone:  (804) 786-3798  •  Fax: (804) 786-9149  • www.vdacs.virginia.gov 

Instructions for Completing the Applications for  
Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification 

 
You must complete Application A if you wish to become certified as a Commercial Pesticide 
Applicator in Virginia, and you have never applied to become a certified Commercial Pesticide 
Applicator. If you have previously applied, or are already certified as a Commercial Pesticide 
Applicator, please use Application B. (See Page 2 for more information on Application B.) 
 
Requirements: 
In order to qualify to take the Commercial Pesticide Applicator certification exams, you must meet 
one of the following requirements: 
 

1. You must currently hold a valid Virginia Registered Technician certificate, and must have 
worked as a certified Registered Technician for at least one year; OR 

 
2. You must have at least one year of education, training, or experience in a pesticide- related 

field which has provided at least the equivalent practical knowledge of proper pesticide use 
required of a Registered Technician.  You will need to provide a description of this education, 
training, or experience with this application. 

 
Persons who have been convicted of a violation of any federal, state or local pesticide law may not 
apply for certification. In addition, persons who have had a Virginia applicator certificate or a pesticide 
business license revoked may not apply for certification within a two-year period following that action. 
 
Study Manuals: 
 
Before attempting to take any Commercial Applicator certification exams, you should first study the 
material contained in the most current edition of the Virginia Pesticide Applicator Training Core 
Manual, and other category-specific manuals related to the type of work you are going to be 
performing. You may order manuals by visiting the Virginia Tech Pesticide Programs website at 
http://www.vtpp.org .  Information on study manuals and how to order them is enclosed. 
  
Application A: 
 
Fill out your application completely, being sure to include the following: 

1. Complete name 
2. Certificate class desired 
3. Social Security Number (Required) 
4. E-mail address  
5. Your mailing address (where you want the Office of Pesticide Services to send your mail) 
6. Your employer information 
7. Your qualifications 
8. Categories in which you wish to be examined (See insert for category descriptions) 
9. Your signature and date of application 
10. Your fee of $70.00 (Government employees are exempt from fees.) 

  

http://www.vtpp.org/
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Application B: 
 
Please complete Application B if you have previously applied to become a certified Commercial 
Pesticide Applicator. This is the application you should use if you wish to: 
 

1. Retake any exams you have not passed on a previous attempt. 
2. Take exams to become certified in additional categories. (Fee $35.00 per application) 
3. Retake Core and category exams in order to recertify, instead of attending a recertification 

course. 
4. Retake exams in order to reinstate an expired certificate. 

 
Fill out your application completely, being sure to include the following: 

1. Reason for taking the exams 
2. Certificate class desired  
3. Social Security Number (Required) 
4. Certification number 
5. E-mail address 
6. Your mailing address (where you want the Office of Pesticide Services to send your mail) 
7. Your employer information 
8. Categories in which you wish to be examined (See insert for category descriptions) 
9. Your signature and date of application 
10. Appropriate Fee ($70.00 or $35.00) (Government employees are exempt from fees) 

 
Notice of Authorization: 
Once your complete application is received, the Office of Pesticide Services will review your 
application. If you meet the requirements above, you will be authorized to be examined. You will 
receive a Notice of Authorization that must be presented at the testing center, along with photo 
identification. Qualified applicants have 90 days from the date of the letter to sit one time for the 
examinations. If your Notice of Authorization expires before you have taken an exam, you must 
reapply. 
 
Testing: 
To become a Commercial Applicator, you must first pass a Core Examination.* This test deals with 
general principles of pesticide safety, and knowledge of appropriate federal and state laws and 
regulations. Then, you must further demonstrate competency in a particular type of pest control by 
passing the appropriate category examination(s). 
* (Persons preparing for certification in Category 5B, Marine Antifoulant Paints, are required to take 
only the category examination.)  
 
The Commercial Core and category examinations are all written examinations. They are administered 
in writing at VDACS testing centers and on touch-screen computers at Department of Motor Vehicles 
Customer Service Centers. Examinations are given during business hours at more than 70 local 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Customer Service Centers, or by appointment at 11 VDACS 
testing centers.  Exams on the DMV computerized equipment are scored as you are taking them, and 
you will be notified of your score as you complete each exam.  Written exams taken at VDACS testing 
centers will be sent to the Office of Pesticide Services in Richmond to be scored. A score of 76% is 
the passing score required to earn a commercial applicator certificate. Once you have passed the 
Core exam, you may take any additional category exams listed on your Notice of Authorization, at 
one sitting. Most exams have a one-hour time limit, and you should allow sufficient time to 
complete all exams before the closing time of the DMV Customer Service Center. 
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Receiving your certificate: 
 
If you pass the Core and one or more category examinations, the Office of Pesticide Services (OPS) 
will notify you, and send you your certificate. If you take and pass your exams at one of the DMV 
Customer Service Centers, your completed Notice of Authorization will serve as a temporary 
certificate good for seven days.  Your permanent certificate will be mailed to you by OPS within seven 
days. 
 
If you are applying pesticides for hire, you must work for a firm that holds a valid Virginia Pesticide 
Business License, issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.  You will 
not receive a certificate without a valid license. 
 
If you fail an exam, OPS will notify you, and will send you a new application.  Another application and 
fee is required to take an exam again.  
 
 
Maintaining your certificate: 
 
To maintain a certificate, you must: 
 

Renew: 
Commercial Applicator Certificates expire June 30 and must be renewed every two years. The 
Office of Pesticide Services will send you a renewal notice every other year.  It is your 
responsibility to keep your mailing address current in our files. A renewal form and a $70.00 
renewal fee must be returned to OPS on or before June 30 of your renewal year to avoid a 
penalty fee. (This fee is waived for federal, state and local government employees.) No late 
renewals will be accepted after August 29. Applications for renewal will not be processed 
unless you have at least two years of recertification credit. 

 
Recertify: 
To qualify for renewal, you must have attended recertification training approved by OPS for the 
category (or categories) in which you are certified. When you attend recertification courses you 
must sign an attendance roster and complete an Application for Recertification form. You will 
earn up to two years of recertification credit per category for each approved program you 
attend. You can accumulate up to a maximum of four years of credit. If you are unable to 
attend recertification training, you may recertify by applying to be reexamined, using 
Application B, and retaking your certification exams.  If you do not recertify, you will not be 
permitted to renew your certificate. 

 
If you allow your certificate to expire for more than 60 days, for any reason, by law you must 
retest to reinstate your certificate. Failure to renew a certificate, either due to failure to respond to 
the renewal notice or failure to recertify, will result in certificate expiration. 
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Recertification courses: 
 
Commercial Applicator recertification courses are offered by the Virginia Cooperative Extension, 
pesticide-related trade and professional organizations, and others. Program availability varies by 
category and by season. Most courses are offered between September and March. Keep in touch 
with your local Extension Agent and/or professional organizations to avoid missing recertification 
opportunities. A current listing of all approved recertification courses may be obtained from the Office 
of Pesticide Services, Virginia Cooperative Extension offices, Virginia Tech Pesticide Programs, or 
from the Internet, using the WWW pages listed below. 
 

Sources of Information: 
 

Questions regarding federal and state pesticide regulations, applicator certification, approved 
commercial applicator recertification workshops, and the legal responsibilities of pesticide users: 

 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

Office of Pesticide Services (OPS) 
Phone (804) 786-3798 / (804) 371-0152 / Fax 804-786-9149 

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pesticides.shtml 
 

  Mailing     Location 
  P.O. Box 1163    102 Governor Street, Lower Level 
  Richmond, VA 23218   Richmond, VA 23219 

 
 

Questions regarding pesticide management techniques, sources of approved preparatory training 
sessions and recertification workshops for private and commercial applicators: 

 
 

(Consult local listings for telephone number) 
Virginia Cooperative Extension (VCE)  

 Virginia Tech Pesticide Programs (VTPP) 
302 Agnew Hall, Code 0409 

Virginia Tech 
Blacksburg, VA 24061-5814 

(540) 231-6543 
http://www.vtpp.org  
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