Need vaccine? Learn how to get your shot at Vaccinate.Virginia.gov or call 1-877-VAX-IN VA. Monday-Friday 8am - 6pm. Language translation available. Virginia Relay users dial 7-1-1.

¿Necesitas vacunarte? Enterate como conseguir tu vacuna Vaccinate.Virginia.gov o llamando al 1-877-829-4682. lunes-viernes 8am a 6pm. Traducción de idiomas en línea disponible. Virginia Relay pueden marcar al 7-1-1.

left side bordertwitter iconfacebook iconinstagram iconflickr iconeva iconright side border

MAINTAINING CERTIFICATION AS A PESTICIDE APPLICATOR

Maintaining your pesticide applicator certification is a two-step process and includes both attending a recertification course approved for the category(s) of applications you are certified to make and renewing your pesticide applicator certificate.

For Commercial Applicators and Registered Technicians:

  • Recertification – Currently certified applicators are required to attend an approved category specific recertification course for each category they hold every 2 years before their certificates expires; and
  • Renewal – Currently certified applicators are required to submit completed renewal applications plus the renewal fees* by June 30 as reflected in the expiration date on their certificates.  Applicators will either renew in and odd or even year cycle per their listed expiration date. (*Government employees are exempt from renewal application and fees however must complete the recertification course requirement)
    • If an applicator does not renew by June 30, the applicator is not allowed by law to apply pesticides.
    • After August 29, an applicator can no longer renew an expired certificate and will have to reinstate it by examination.

For Private Applicators:

  • Recertification – Currently certified applicators are required to attend approved category specific recertification courses for each category they hold every 2 years before their certificates expire; and
  • Renewal – If an applicator has the required recertification credit, their certificate will be automatically renewed.
    • If an applicator does not renew December 31, they are not allowed by law to apply pesticides.
    • Applicators are granted 60 days after December 31 to obtain recert credit to renew their expired certificate, otherwise they will have to be reexamined.
    • After the 60 day grace period, the only way to renew their certificate is by examination.

Recertification Course Information and Requirements

Reciprocal recertification may be granted to out-of-state commercial or private applicators who were  granted certificates via reciprocity if they:
  • Maintain certification in their home state;
  • Provide proof of current certification to the Office of Pesticide Services prior to the date of Virginia Certification expiration;
  • Are currently certified in a state that grants reciprocal recertification to Virginia applicators in like categories; and,
  • Have met all other Virginia requirements for recertification.

Applicators who were issued a commercial or private applicator certificate that do not renew their certificate will have to be tested should they make a request to reinstate it.

Contact
Click here for Office of Pesticide Services contact information.


Download Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.