Need vaccine? Learn how to get your shot at or call 1-877-VAX-IN VA. Monday-Friday 8am - 6pm. Language translation available. Virginia Relay users dial 7-1-1.

¿Necesitas vacunarte? Enterate como conseguir tu vacuna o llamando al 1-877-829-4682. lunes-viernes 8am a 6pm. Traducción de idiomas en línea disponible. Virginia Relay pueden marcar al 7-1-1.

left side bordertwitter iconfacebook iconinstagram iconflickr iconeva iconright side border


Photo of pesticide applicatorThe Office of Pesticide Services certifies applicators, registers pesticide products and licenses pesticide businesses. These activities provide for the safe and effective control of pests that attack our crops, structures and health.

List of Certified Pesticide Applicators

List of Licensed Pesticide Businesses

2021 Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Registered Technician Certification Renewals

If you are a certified Commercial Pesticide Applicator or a certified Registered Technician and the expiration date on your certificate is June 30, 2021, you should have received your renewal application and returned it along with the applicable fee to the Office of Pesticide Services for processing. 

As a reminder, applicator renewal is a two-step process:

  1. Recertification – Pesticide applicators are required to take one recertification course every 2 years, before your certificate expires; AND
  2. Renewal (not the same as recertification) – Pesticide applicators are required to complete and return their renewal application and renewal fees* to OPS by JUNE 30. Keep in mind,
    1. If you do not renew by June 30, you are not allowed by law to apply pesticides.
    2. After August 29, the only way to renew your certificate is by examination.
    (*Government employees are exempt from renewal application and fees however they must complete the recertification course requirement)

 For applicators renewing their certification, if you have submitted your renewal application and fee and taken the required recertification course by June 30, 2021, you can continue to make applications after June 30, 2021.  However, if you have not done one or both, you cannot legally apply pesticides after June 30, 2021 until you submit both the application and fee and take the recertification course.

 Applicators who do not renew their certification by August 29, 2021, are required by law to retake the certification exam(s) to renew their certification. This 60 day "grace period" only allows applicators 60 additional days to renew their certification without having to take the exam, however, does not permit applicators who are not certified or have not submitted their renewal application and fee and taken the required recertification course to continue to apply pesticides.

 If you have not yet attended a recertification course, please see the list of currently approved recertification courses. If you are not sure if you need to take a recertification course, you can check the status of your recertification credit on the List of Certified Pesticide Applicators.

2021 COVID-19 and Certification Exams for Prospective Pesticide Applicators

All authorization letters for prospective applicators to take the exam(s) to become certified expire on the date listed in the letter. There are no extensions to the expiration dates. Prospective applicators who do not take the exam(s) by the expiration date are required to submit a new application with appropriate fees to take the exam(s).

For prospective applicators with current authorization letters to test, testing options include:

  1. Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) - Prospective applicators (commercial applicators, private applicators and registered technicians) can take their exams at DMV customer service center. All services are by appointment only including pesticide applicator certification testing. Appointments can be scheduled on the DMV website. Select “Learner’s Permit/Knowledge Test”. When scheduling an appointment, prospective applicators will select the location where they will be testing. Applicators will next the knowledge test for "Dealer Operators, Salesperson, Escort or Pesticide Applicator Certification". According to the website, three months of appointment slots are available at any time on the calendar. Each day, a new day of appointments is added to the end of the available period. New appointment slots will be posted multiple times every hour. Cancellations can also create earlier availability in the calendar. If you do not see availability, all the posted appointment slots are currently booked. Individuals wanting to take a certification exam(s) at DMV should check the site frequently for availability and are encouraged to look outside their area. Should you need additional information regarding DMV reopening or services available, please contact DMV directly. 
  2. Virginia Pest Management Association (VPMA) - VPMA is offering limited in person testing opportunities to prospective pesticide applicators. Information regarding testing locations and event registration is available on the  VPMA website.
  3. Proctored Testing by Pesticide Investigators – The Office of Pesticide Services Pesticide Investigators also proctor testing of prospective applicators. Proctored testing is based upon the availability of the Pesticide Investigator. Contact information for Pesticide Investigators is available on our webpage at .

Information for Pesticide Applicators

Information for Pesticide Businesses

Information for Pesticide Product Registrants

Protecting Pollinators

Pesticide Use on Hemp

VDACS has issued information to assist industrial hemp growers in identifying pesticide products that may be used on hemp crops grown in Virginia.

Information regarding VDACS’s pesticide product registration process and currently registered pesticides is available here.

If your hemp product is intended for human consumption: 

On July 15, 2019, the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services advised Registered Industrial Hemp Processors that the Northam Administration has directed VDACS to treat hemp-derived extracts intended for human consumption as approved food additives and to place qualifying Registered Industrial Hemp Processors under food safety inspection so that inspected and approved processors may manufacture a hemp-derived extract intended for human consumption. VDACS's Food Safety Program is working on guidelines that will implement this policy directive, and we will post them here as soon as they are available.
If your intended hemp-derived product is not an extract but is intended for human consumption, please contact VDACS's Food Safety Program for additional information.  

Please note that the requirements in Virginia's Food and Drink Law do not pertain to the production or sale of topical products.

Additional Services & Links

Click here for Office of Pesticide Services contact information.

If you have a pesticide-related complaint, contact the Office of Pesticide Services at 804.371.6560. Pesticide investigators are available to inspect and investigate allegations of pesticide misuse.

Download Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.